« E Bike Gone Wild! | Main | Eric Geboers - Lommel Farewell »

MXGP Qualification 

Herlings Sensational Saturday



Red Bull KTM rider Jeffrey Herlings has easily won the MXGP qualification race after taking a big holeshot and pulling well away from his rivals. Second was Clement Desalle and third in a great ride Antonio Cairoli.
“It was awesome,” Herlings said. “I liked the track all day. It was a walk in the park. We want the same tomorrow.”
Herlings took the holeshot from Desalle, Coldenhoff, Febvre, Monticelli, Van Horebeek, Gajser. Herlings clocked a lap five seconds quicker than anyone else. Gajser got past Van Horebeek and Cairoli 13th.
After two laps and Herlings lead was 11 seconds, unbelievable, or maybe not. Three laps in and Herlings backed it down and is just three seconds a lap quicker than his rivals. 
Todd Waters a brilliant ninth after a handful of laps and Cairoli  up to 12th. Herlings lead is 19 seconds and goodbye competition. Waters went down after climbing to 8th. Gajser went past Coldenhoff and Waters back in 29th.
Cairoli working hard moved into 8th place and Febvre all over Desalle. Cairoli closed in on Seewer and Herlings still moving away but slowing down to just two seconds a lap quicker than the others. The lead 25 seconds after nine laps.
Cairoli into seventh while Nagl was ninth and Paulin 10th. Van Horebeek all over Coldenhoff then the Dutchman made a mistake and the Belgian was through. Gajser flying passed Febvre and was into Desalle.
Gajser crashed and Cairoli passed both Coldenhoff and the fallen Gajser. Herlings wins it from Desalle and Cairoli.

MXGP - Qualifying Race - Classification

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 25:15.963;
2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:50.350;
3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:52.955;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:53.967;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:56.432; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:59.992;
7. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:01.824;
8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +1:02.220;
 9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:03.219;
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, TM), +1:09.757; 11. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:26.139;

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>