Gajser and Prado Control Imola


Team HRC’s Tim Gajser continued to be the man in the MXGP class with another solid, mistake free ride today at Imola. The soon to be crowned MXGP champion now goes into Sunday’s races with pole position and no doubt will be hoping to celebrate his third Motocross World Championship after the first race tomorrow. Second and third in the qualifier were Standing Construct KTM’s Glenn Coldenhoff and


teammate Ivo Monticelli. 

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jorge Prado dominated the Saturday MX2 qualification race at the Imola circuit today. The Spanish rider led early and never gave his lead away. Second was F&H Kawasaki Racing’s Henry Jacobi and third Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Thomas Kjer Olsen.


Together with MXGP and MX2 Qualifying races, the opening EMX2T presented by FMF Racing and WMX races were taking place with JK Racing wild card Manuel Iacopi winning his first race but the championship battle is still between Ecomaxx Fuels Mike Kras and Brad Anderson of the Verde Substance KTM team.

Bike It DRT Kawasaki’s Courtney Duncan has won a very eventful opening race for the Women’s Motocross World Championship. The New Zealander led early, only to give the lead to Nancy Van De Ven, before catching and passing the Dutch women, who eventually finished third behind Duncan and German rider Larissa Papenmeier. Duncan now has a 19-point lead in the championship points. 

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP team’s Romain Febvre led the qualification race from Team HRC’s Tim Gajser, Gebben Van Venrooy Kawasaki Racing’s Alessandro Lupino, Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Tommy Searle, Monster Energy Wilvo Yamaha Official MXGP’s Gautier Paulin, Standing Construct KTM’s Ivo Monticelli, Standing Construct KTM’s Max Anstie, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Pauls Jonass, Volodymyr Tarasov, and Samuele Bernardini in 10th

After a lap the lead was less than a second, and Monticelli moved into third place, ahead of Jonass and Paulin. Febvre and Gajser remained close going into the fourth lap and Gajser clocked the quickest lap of the race. Coldenhoff made it for fifth place, with Anstie sixth and Searle losing places fast in 10thplace.

On lap five Gajser took the lead, but Febvre quickly repassed and managed to be back in front. Behind them were Monticelli, Coldenhoff, and Jonass. After eight laps Gajser went for another charge towards Febvre and closed right up to his back wheel, the Slovenian moved into the lead but once again Febvre charged Gajser and made it for first. Back in the pack Seewer was charging Paulin and he managed to go through.  

Febvre made a mistake and Gajser passed him while Monticelli moved into second place for a moment and Gajser pulled to nearly three seconds away from those two. Soon after Coldenhoff also started pushing Febvre and moved past on lap 10.

Coldenhoff, who is in great form at the moment, moved into second place, relegating Monticelli to third, then came Febvre and Anstie. Tim Gajser won his sixt qualifying race of the season from Coldenhoff and Italian sensation Ivo Monticelli.

Gebben Van Venrooy Kawasaki’s Alessandro Lupino had a good start but he could not finish the race due to issues on his exhaust pipe. 

Tim Gajser: “I’m really happy for my qualifying racer, I was feeling very good, the track is gnarly, and I liked it. I had a nice battle with Romain (Febvre), and I enjoyed that because it was clean, and I look forward to tomorrow. It’s going to be a special day”




Husqvarna - 100 World Titles




59 years on from the brand’s first world championship success, Husqvarna Motorcycles celebrate 100 world titles in 2019 – 58 rider and 42 manufacturer titles earned across six different motorcycle disciplines. 
Highlighting the brand’s capabilities on the international motocross stage, it was back in 1960 that the hard-charging Swede Bill Nilsson claimed the FIM 500cc Motocross World Championship and with it, handed Husqvarna Motorcycles their first world title. It was to be the first of no fewer than nine Motocross World Championship titles claimed by the Swedish brand during the 1960s, the start of the sport’s golden era during which time the legendary Torsten Hallman secured four FIM 250cc Motocross World Championships.